Symposium on Dynamical Systems and Related Fields

– From Waterloo to the World and Back –

Conference on the Occasion of Professor N. Sri Namachchivaya’s 60th Birthday.


Tuesday, May 15th (Arrival) to Friday, May 18th, 2018 (Departure)

University of Waterloo (Ontario, Canada)


This symposium is being held in honour of Professor Navaratnam Sri Namachchivaya’s 60th birthday. It seeks to identify the key drivers, challenges, and opportunities in the field of deterministic, random and data-driven dynamical systems. Invited speakers will present ways by which the mathematical tools and techniques from stochastic and nonlinear dynamical systems can inform and improve Biological, Environmental, Information and Mechanical Sciences. 

Topics include: 

  • Data Driven Dynamical Systems
  • Random Dynamical Systems
  • Deterministic and Control Systems
  • Statistical Learning – Applications of Machine Learning
  • Biological Dynamical Systems
  • Finance/Block-chain Applications

The symposium will be held at the Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum-Nano Centre (Room QNC 0101) on the University of Waterloo campus, from May 15 – 18,  2018. As new information regarding the symposium becomes available, it will be posted to this website. Attendees should register using the following Conference Registration link:

Conference Registration

Invited Speakers:

  • Eyad H. Abed (University of Maryland, College Park, USA)
  • Alfons Ams (Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg, Freiberg, Germany)
  • S. T. Ariaratnam (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada)
  • Ludwig Arnold (Universität Bremen, Bremen, Germany)
  • Anil Kumar Bajaj (Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA)
  • Peter Baxendale (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Ryne Beeson (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Larry A. Bergman (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Sue Ann Campbell (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada)
  • Soon-Jo Chung (California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA)
  • Fritz Colonius (Universität Augsburg, Augsburg, Germany)
  • Bruce A. Conway (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Hans Crauel (Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main, Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Manfred Denker (Penn State University, State College, USA)
  • Mikhail Dimentberg (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, USA)
  • Leo Dostal (Technische Universität Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany)
  • Mark Freidlin (University of Maryland, College Park, USA)
  • Nishith Goel (Cistel Total IT Partners, Ottawa Canada)
  • Harry H. Hilton (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Peter Imkeller (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin, Germany)
  • C. K. R. T. Jones (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Wolfgang Kliemann (Iowa State University, Ames, USA)
  • William F. Langford (University of Guelph, Guelph, Canada)
  • Naresh Malhotra (KPMG LLP, New York, USA)
  • Mahmoud Mamlouk (Bank of Montreal, Chicago, USA)
  • Robert McDonald (Boeing, Springfield VA, USA)
  • Paul K. Newton, (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Ilya Pavlyukevich (Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Jena, Germany)
  • Nicolas Perkowski (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Berlin, Germany)
  • Marc-André Pick (Technische Universität Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany)
  • Zoi Rapti (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Steven W. Shaw (Florida Institute of Technology, Melbourne FL, USA)
  • Siv Sivaloganthan (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada)
  • Sanjiv Talwar (Financial Risk Group, USA)
  • Henry Van Roessel (University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada)
  • Petros G. Voulgaris (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Walter Wedig (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Karlsruhe, Germany)
  • Volker Wihstutz (University of North Carolina, Charlotte, USA)
  • Hoong Chieh Yeong (University of Illinois, Urbana, USA)
  • Wei Chau Xie (University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canada) 

Organizing Committee

The following linked pages provide information for travel and hotel accommodations:

Traveling to the University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Delta Hotel Waterloo, Special Group Rate


Conference Poster