University of Illinois Urbana Champaign September 29- October 1, 2022

DaleFest Photos – Click Here

DaleFest”, a celebration honoring the academic career of our colleague Dale Van Harlingen following his recent retirement from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign after 41 years.  The celebration will take place in Urbana on the weekend of September 29 – October 1. 

Welcome Reception will be held in room 204 Loomis/Interaction Room starting at 5:00 pm We will be hosting a taco bar with margaritas!

The main program will take place during the day on Friday and on Saturday morning featuring a series of short presentations highlighting some of the research topics that Dale was involved in, by people whom he worked with and whose work he admired, and a banquet on Friday evening.  There will opportunities during the sessions and at the banquet for everyone to share reminiscences and stories about Dale and the research topics and administrative efforts that he focused on in his career.  The scientific program will be held in Room 190 Engineering Sciences Building  1101 W. Springfield Ave, Urbana IL 61801

We are so excited to be able to have this event in person.  We will have masks available at ESB and for those who wish to wear them.   The University of Illinois Urbana Champaign encourages their use.

Friday Evening will be our Banquet at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center’s Ballroom with the “Jaybirds” playing starting at 6:30 pm with cocktails being served and Dinner will start at 7:30 pm. 


We have reserved a block of rooms at the Hyatt Place in downtown Champaign.  If you wish to book a room, you can use this link, or you can call the hotel directly at 217-531-2800 (option 0) and ask for the Department of Physics Room Block — the group code for them to use is G-DOP1.

Event Registration:

Please register for this event at the following link: there is no cost to attend, but we would like to know how many to plan for!

Registration has now closed.

Scientific Program: Subject to change

Dale Van Harlingen – Professor of Physics

Confirmed Speakers:

John Clarke, University of California Berkley
Eduardo Fradkin, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Bill Halperin, Northwestern University
Paul Golbart, Stoneybrook University
Steve Kivelson, Stanford University
Alessandra Lanzara, University of California Berkley
Tony Leggett, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Nadya Mason, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
Kam Moler, Stanford University
Mike Norman, Argonne National Lab
Britton Plourde, Syracuse University
Jim Sauls, Northwestern University
Stuart Tessmer, Michigan State University
Smitha Vishveshwara, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Amir Yacoby, Harvard University
Ali Yazdani, Princeton University