Arthurian Fantasy

King Arthur

Cabot, Meg.
Avalon High. 2006.
Having moved to Annapolis, Maryland, with her medievalist parents, high school junior Ellie enrolls at Avalon High School where several students may or may not be reincarnations of King Arthur and his court.
[SSHEL S Collection and CCB S. C1121a]

Clement-Davies, David.
The Telling Pool. 2005.
Relying on true courage and true love, as well as some surprising connections to the Arthurian legends, a young Welsh teenager named Rhodri embarks on a quest to remove an ancient curse from Great Britain during the reign of Richard the Lionheart.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. C4915t]

Crossley-Holland, Kevin.
The Seeing Stone. 2001.
In late twelfth-century England, a thirteen-year-old boy named Arthur recounts how Merlin gives him a magical seeing stone which shows him images of the legendary King Arthur, the events of whose life seem to have many parallels to his own. The Seeing Stone begins the Arthur Trilogy.
[SSHEL Oak Street and CCB S. C8841se]

Curry, Ann.
The Book of Brendan. 1989.
When the evil magician Myrddin appears, determined to subdue the monks of Holybury Abbey and the surrounding villages, Father Brendan and his young friends must rely on magical beasts and the help of Arthur, Guinevere, and Merlin, summoned from their sleep on the Isles of Truth.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. C9372B]

Curry, Jane Louise.
The Sleepers. 1968.
A prophecy inscribed on stone, a bronze Celtic bell, a fabled tree, and a long, straight passageway beneath a hill-threatened by a drilling company and a woman who strangely resembles Morgan Le Fay lead four children into a stitch in time and to the Sleepers, an early Celtic King Arthur, and his men.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. C937S]

Hill, Pamela Smith.
The Last Grail Keeper. 2001.
After an archaeological dig at Glastonbury Tor in England uncovers the Holy Grail, Felicity and her mother, a professor of Arthurian literature, find that their destinies are linked across time with the Grail and the legendary King Arthur.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. H5541l]

Newman, Robert.
The Testing of Tertius. 1973.
With Merlin subdued by an evil spell, his apprentice, Tertius, trying to break the spell and save Britain, finds his command of all future knowledge more hindrance than help.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. N467T]

Reeve, Philip.
Here Lies Arthur. 2008.
When her village is attacked and burned, Gwyna seeks protection from the bard Myrddin, who uses Gwyna in his plan to transform young Arthur into the heroic King Arthur.
[SSHEL S Collection and CCb S. R259h]

Service, Pamela F.
Tomorrow’s Magic. 2007.
Two novels in which a young, resurrected Merlin and two friends attempt to bring King Arthur back to Britain, then struggle against the evil plots of Morgan Le Fay to build a new and better civilization in the wake of a nuclear holocaust. The New Magic Trilogy also includes Yesterday’s Magic and Earth’s Magic.
[SSHEL S Collection S. Se69W]

Thomson, Sarah L.
The Dragon’s Son. 2001.
Based on the Mabinogion, a collection of medieval Welsh tales, as well as later legends, tells of family members and servants important in the life of King Arthur, featuring Nimue, Morgan le Fay, Luned, and Mordred.
[SSHEL S Collection S. T386d]


Barron, T. A.
The Lost Years of Merlin. 1996.
A young boy who has no identity nor memory of his past washes ashore on the coast of Wales and finds his true name after a series of fantastic adventures. Four sequels chronicling the boy’s next adventures follow.
[SSHEL S Collection S. B2792l]

Newman, Robert.
Merlin’s Mistake. 1970.
By mistake Merlin had given Tertius the gift of future knowledge. But of what use was the knowledge of a computer circuit when one needed the know-how of knighthood.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. N467M]

Service, Pamela F.
Wizard of Wind and Rock. 1990.
Teased by the other children for not having a father, young Merlin develops his magic powers and comes to the aid of a king.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. 398.210942 Se69W]

Yolen, Jane.
Passager. 1996.
A foundling rediscovers his identity through the help of the falconer who adopts him. The Young Merlin Trilogy is continued in Hobby and Merlin.
[SSHEL Oak Street s. Y78p]


Aiken, Joan.
The Stolen Lake. 1981.
On her way to England from Nantucket aboard a British man-o’war, Dido has many adventures when the ship is diverted to the land of New Cumbria in the southern hemisphere, where she encounters a sleeping Arthur and an awakened Guinevere.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. Ai4st]

McKenzie, Nancy.
Guinevere’s Gift. 2008.
When the orphaned Guinevere is twelve years old, living with Queen Alyse and King Pellinore of Gwynedd, she fearlessly helps rescue her cousin from kidnappers who are plotting to seize the palace and overthrow the king, even as the queen despairs of Guinevere’s rebellious nature. The adventure continues in Guinevere’s Gamble.
[SSHEL S Collection S. M459g


Springer, Nancy.
I Am Mordred: A Tale from Camelot. 1998.
When Mordred learns the identity of his father, he struggles with feelings of hatred, but also fights the fate which determines that he kill the good and gracious king.
[SSHEL Oak Street and CCB S. Sp83i]

Wein, Elizabeth.
The Winter Prince. 1993.
Medraut, the bitter, illegitimate son of King Artos, is tempted into joining Morgause, the king’s treacherous sister, in a plot against Lleu, the legitimate Prince of Britain.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. W432w]

Morgan le Fay

Springer, Nancy.
I Am Morgan le Fay: A Tale from Camelot. 2001.
In a war-torn England where her half-brother Arthur will eventually become king, the young Morgan le Fay comes to realize that she has magic powers and links to the faerie world.
[SSHEL S Collection and CCB S. Sp83im]

The Knights of the Round Table

Morris, Gerald.
The Squire’s Tale. 1998.
In medieval England, fourteen-year-old Terence finds his tranquil existence suddenly changed when he becomes the squire of the young Gawain of Orkney and accompanies him on a long quest, proving Gawain’s worth as a knight and revealing an important secret about his own true identity. The squire’s tales continue in a series of sequels.
[SSHEL S Collection S. M832s]

Morris, Gerald
The Adventures of Sir Givret the Short. 2008.
While not the most intrepid knight of the Round Table, Sir Givret the Short helps King Arthur and the other knights with his cunning and cleverness. Morris tells the stories of other knights, like Lancelot, in the same series.
[SSHEL S Collection S.M832a]

Scieszka, Jon.
Knights of the Kitchen Table. 1993.
When Joe, Fred, and Sam are sent back in time by a magic book, they find themselves face-to-face with giants, dragons, wizards, and the Knights of the Round Table.  Book one in the Time Warp Trio series.
[SSHEL Oak Street S. Sci27k1993]