Our Team

Project Managers 2019-2020

Theodore Mossman – mossman3@illinois.edu
Gabby Choo-Kang – gkc3@illinois.edu

Sub Teams: Concrete Canoe has four sub-teams that work together to finish the product on time. All members can participate in as many of these sub teams as desired.

Construction Team: Construction team focuses on ways of safely and efficiently building the canoe and also constructing the various items that are used for the overall display. These items include stands, shelves, and costumes. They also use various tools and equipment to get the job done, although one doesn’t have to be experienced.

Structural Team: Structural Analysis and Design Team uses various modeling softwares and methods to design the canoe. They must consider overall length, weight, and how hydrodynamic the canoe will be. To get better data, 3d printing is used to make miniature canoes for testing. Aside from this, they are also responsible for making the canoe aesthetically pleasing and also helping out construction team with their projects by using software such as Sketchup or Inventor.

Mix/Design Team: Most commonly known as “Mix Design Team”, this team focuses on perfecting the concrete mix that is to be used for the canoe and also doing material research on the side. Their job is quite important as a bad batch of concrete will ruin the canoe. Various compression, tension, flexure tests are conducted to reduce the likelihood of failure. The canoe is not made up of entirely concrete however as various fibers (such as hemp rope or carbon fiber) must be used to improve the overall strength of it.

Paddling Team: Paddling team focuses on training for the regional/national races. They have a fitness day where they go to the ARC or CRCE and do various exercises. They also have rowing days (weather permitting) where they work on technique and do team bonding. The input taken from the other teams directly affects how the paddling team plans their strategy and tactics.

Past Canoes & Captains

2018-2019 “Apollo XIX” – Darren Liu, Michael Haynie
2017-2018 “Illini’s Revenge” – Karly Bast, Matthew Tuan
2016-2017 “ILL-17” – Max Orihuela, John Henry Visperas
2015-2016 “HAL-INI”- Luis Garay, John Henry Visperas
2014-2015 “G.Root” – Luis Garay, Jennifer Zablotny, Wenjing Li
2013-2014 “Arachnid” – Robert Butler and Alex Prasauskas
2012-2013 “Vincere: – Hong Kim and Min Yin
2011-2012 “Maverick” – Arielle Malinowski & Raphael Stern
2010-2011 “The Cementery” – David Nauheimer & Jacob Thede
2009-2010 “I of the Illini” – Ericka Rogers & Roman Vovchak
2008-2009 “Ugly Rubber Ducky” – Emma Israel & Ben Rasmussen
2007-2008 “Sustain-a-boat” – Will Kolbuk & Carrie Peterson
2006-2007 “Mis-Led II” – Carrie Peterson & Stefano Truschke
2005-2006 “Brigantine” – Stefano Truschke & Adam Wedoff
2004-2005 “Illiniwake”
2003-2004 “The Blues Boat”
2002-2003 “The Batboat”
2001-2002 “CON-crete”
2000-2001 “The Pharoh”
1999-2000 “Rumble in the Jungle”
1998-1999 “Corn-crete”
1997-1998 “Dreamweaver”
1996-1997 “Justice”
1995-1996 “Illini Silver Surfer”
1994-1995 “Flatland Flyer”
1993-1994 “Stock Rock”
1992-1993 “Illini Clipper”
1991-1992 “Momentus Cementus”
1990-1991 “Illini Clipper”
1970-1971 “Mis-Led”