

Tech. Talent. Research.

PART OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS SYSTEM

e-JUST – Environmental Justice using Urban Scalable Toolkit Kickoff Meeting and NASA Project Site Visit

Location: 200 S. Wacker, 20th floor, Chicago Time: December 15, 2022; noon-1:30 pm

Agenda:

12:00: Lunch is served 12:10 pm: Introductions

12:20 pm: DPI video overview and Welcome remarks

Venkat Venkatakrishnan, DPI Director of Research

12:25 NASA Equity and Environmental Justice (EEJ) objectives and overview Owen Hooks, NASA EEJ Program Manager

12:35 pm: e-JUST: Project overview

Ashish Sharma, Climate and Urban Sustainability Lead, DPI

Architecture of e-JUST and a demo

Matt Turk, UIUC School of Information Sciences (remote)

e-JUST climate modeling

Pieyuan Li, DPI, postdoc

Story maps

Mitchell Lazaron, UIUC/DPI, graduate student

12:55 pm: EJ communities in the region Project partners & communities

facilitator: Edith Makra, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

1:05 pm: Discussion

- What suggestions do you have for designing the e-JUST Toolkit?
- How can the e-JUST Toolkit be beneficial to communities?
- How can e-JUST help inform priorities and investments in EJ communities?

1:25 pm: Future roadmap

Ashish Sharma

1:30 pm: Group photo

List of attendees:

Name	Organization
Ashish Sharma	DPI
Matthew J Turk	UIUC
Mitchell Lazarow	UIUC/DPI
Venkat Venkatakrishnan	DPI
Marcia Silva	DPI
Peiyuan Li	DPI
Edith Makra	Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
Mayor Kevin Burns	City of Geneva & Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
Cheryl Scott	Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
Chad Kruse	IEPA
Raed Mansoor	City of Chicago, Health Department
Daniella Pereira	Openlands
Jack Westwood	Walder Foundation
Amy Heldman	Friends of the Chicago River
Vernard Alsberry., Jr.	Hazel Crest
Thomas Maillard	City of Waukegan
Briana Moore	Will County
Katrina Thompson	Village of Broadview
Mikayla Larson	City of Elgin
Kristi De Laurentis	South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
Meagan Gavin	US EPA Region 5
Owen Hooks	NASA
Sabrina Delgado Arias	NASA
Lauren Childs-Gleason	NASA
Shobhana Gupta	NASA
Sydney E. Neugebauer	NASA
Nikki R. Tulley	NASA
Jennifer Wei	NASA