Registration and Graduation Deadlines

Summer 2018 Academic Calendar 

Fri, May 11
5 p.m.
Last business day to cancel Summer 1 (4 week) and SF (summer full term) registration if not registered for any other summer course
Mon, May 14 Instruction begins for POT S1 session and POT SF session
Fri, May 18 Last day for GRAD to add a S1 course via Student Self-Service
Deadline for GRAD to submit forms to elect to audit a course for POT S1
Fri May 25 Last day for GRAD to elect “in absentia” registration for summer term
Mon, May 28 Memorial Day (all campus holiday)
Fri, Jun 1 Last day for GRAD to drop a POT S1 course without a grade of W
Last day for GRAD to elect credit/no-credit option for a POT S1 course or to change from credit/no-credit option to a regular grade
Fri, Jun 8
5 p.m.
Deadline to cancel POT S1 Independent Study and summer 2 registration if you are not enrolled for any other summer course
Last day of instruction for POT S1.  Finals on last class day or the following day.
Mon, Jun 11 First day of instruction for POT S2 and POT S2A
Fri, Jun 15 Last day for GRAD to add a POT S2A course
Tue, Jun 19 Last day for GRAD to add a POT S2 or POT 1 course
Deadline for GRAD to elect to audit a course for S2
Fri, Jun 29 Last day for GRAD to drop a POT S2A course without a grade of “W”
Last day for GRAD to elect credit/no-credit option for a POT S2A or to change from credit/no-credit option to a regular grade
Last day to take final exam for Aug doctoral degree
Wed, Jul 4 Independence Day (all campus holiday)
Fri, Jul 6 Last day for GRAD to add themselves to Aug degree list via Student Self-Service and for departments to add students who do not have access to Student Self-Service
Last day to submit a change of curriculum request for the current term. This includes changing your degree program or adding/dropping a minor or concentration.
Mon, Jul 9 Courses begin for POT S2B
Fri, Jul 13 Last day to complete deposit of Aug doctoral dissertations
Fri, Jul 20 Last day to complete deposit of Aug Master’s theses
Last day for GRAD to withdraw from S2 without a grade of W
Last day for GRAD to drop a S2 or S1 Independent Study course
Last day for GRAD to add a POT S2B course
Last day for GRAD to elect credit/no-credit option for a S2 or S1 Indep. Study course or to change from credit/no-credit option to a regular grade
Fri, Jul 27 Last day for GRAD to drop a POT S2B course
Last day for GRAD to elect credit/no-credit option for a POT S2B course or to change from credit/no-credit option to a regular grade
Thur, Aug 2 Instruction ends for POTs, S2, S2B, SF and 1
Thur, Aug 2, noon Reading Day
Fri, Aug 3 – Sat, Aug 4 Final examination period
Mon, Aug 6 August degree conferral (no commencement)
Last date for receipt of completed petitions in the Graduate College for graduating students

August 2018 Graduation Deadlines 

  • Friday, July 6  – last day to add name to August degree list via Student Self-Service
  • Friday, July 6 – last day to submit Dissertation/Thesis/Scholarly Essay to Jenny Phillips, jhorn@illinois.edu, for departmental format review check (additional dissertation requirements/deadlines can be found at http://www.grad.illinois.edu/thesis).
  • Friday, July 13 – last day to complete Dissertation deposit in the Graduate College or Thesis/Scholarly Essay deposit with Academic Affairs (MUS 599 = Graduate College; MUS 576 = Academic Affairs)
  • Friday, July 20 –  last day to complete Master’s theses deposit
  • Monday, August 6 – August degree conferral

*DMA students: dissertations (option 1) are deposited with the Graduate College; theses and scholarly essays (options 2 and 3) are deposited with Academic Affairs.