Fall 2018 Workshops

The LAS Success Workshop series is designed to support students’ academic, personal, and professional development. 

Questions about the Academic Workshops may be directed to Dean Bob Steltman: steltman@illinois.edu. Questions about the Career Development Workshops may be directed to Brian Neighbors: bneig2@illinois.

 


UP-COMING WORKSHOPS FOR FALL 2018


SEPTEMBER  WORKSHOPS


Tuesday, September 11
ACADEMIC: The Mindful Student-Discovering Your Strengths and Re-Imaging “Success”
 4:00-5:20 PM, 1028 Lincoln Hall


Wednesday, September 12
ACADEMIC: Succeeding in MCB Core Courses 
5:00-6:00 PM, 1028 Lincoln Hall


Thursday, September 13
ACADEMIC: So You’d Like to Pass Your Physics Exam…
3:00-4:00 PM, 1027 Lincoln Hall


Friday, September  14
CAREER: Inquire, Engage, and Create Workshop Series: Making the Most of Your Illinois Experience
2:00-3:00 PM, 2043 Lincoln Hall


Thursday, September 20
ACADEMIC: Preparing for your first Chemistry Exam
4:00-5:00 PM, 1027 Lincoln Hall


Monday, September 24
CAREER: ACES + LAS Career Fair-Prep for Science Majors
5:00-6:00 PM, Location TBD


Wednesday, September 26
CAREER: ACES + LAS Career Fair-Prep for Humanities/Social Science Majors
5:00-6:00 PM, 1027 Lincoln Hall


Thursday, September 27
CAREER: Inquire, Engage, and Create Workshop Series: Gaining Professional Experiences
3:00-4:00 PM, 2043 Lincoln Hall


Thursday, September 27
ACADEMIC: Succeeding in MCB Core Courses 
5:00-6:00 PM, 1028 Lincoln Hall


OCTOBER  WORKSHOPS


Monday, October 1
ACADEMIC: Didn’t get the grade you wanted on your first ECON exam?
4:00-4:50 PM, 1024 Lincoln Hall


Monday, October 1
CAREER: ACES + LAS Career Fair-First Impressions Workshop
6:00 PM, Noyes 161/162Thursday, September 27


Wednesday, October 3
ACADEMIC: My First Chemistry Exam Did Not Go Well, Now What?
4:30-5:50 PM, 1022 Lincoln Hall


Thursday, October 4
ACADEMIC: Mathematics-Succeeding in the Calculus Sequence
4:00-5:00 PM, 1028 Lincoln Hall


Tuesday, October 9
ACADEMIC: Recovering from the multiple-choice blues in your Psychology courses
4:00-5:15 PM, 1060 Lincoln Hall


Wednesday, October 10
ACADEMIC: So Your Physics Exam Didn’t go As Well As You Hoped…
2:00-2:50 PM, 1002 Lincoln Hall


Wednesday, October 10
CAREER: Leveraging Technology in Your Internship/Job Search 
4:00-5:00 PM, Room 17 Psychology Building


Thursday, October 11
ACADEMIC: My First Chemistry Exam Did Not Go Well, Now What?
4:00-5:20 PM, 1028 Lincoln Hall


Tuesday, October 16
CAREER: Inquire, Engage, and Create Workshop Series: Study Abroad
2:00-3:00 PM, 1092  Lincoln Hall


Thursday, October 25
CAREER: Inquire, Engage, and Create Workshop Series: Undergrad Research
2:00-3:00 PM, 124 Burrill Hall


Monday, October 29
CAREER: Brainstorming 101
3:30-4:30 PM, Room 32 Psychology Building


NOVEMBER  WORKSHOPS

Tuesday, November 6
CAREER: Inquire, Engage, and Create Workshop Series: Leadership
4:00-5:00 PM, Room 111 David Kinley Hall

Wednesday, November 14
CAREER: Major ≠ Career
4:00-5:00 PM, 2043 Lincoln Hall