Team

Principal Investigator: Kai Zhang, Ph.D

Associate Professor
Associate Department Head
Director of Graduate Studies

Department of Biochemistry
Affiliate, Beckman Institute 
Affiliate, Neuroscience program
Affiliate, Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology 
Affiliated Faculty, Cancer Center at Illinois
Affiliated Faculty, Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Program

314 B RAL (Office)
317 RAL (Laboratory)
Phone: 217-300-0582

Full CV: Zhang_CV

Postdoctoral Scholar

 

Dr. Tyler Camp

B.S. of Computer Science, University of Texas at Austin (2017) 
PhD: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2021)
317 RAL

Email: tylerc5@illinois.edu

Graduate Students

 

Huaxun Fan                                                       
BS: Zhejiang University, China                            
317 RAL                                                               
Email: huaxunf2@illinois.edu

                   

Kritika Mehta
MS: Indian Institute of Technology, India
317 RAL
Email: kritika4@illinois.edu
Teak-Jung Oh (TJ)
MS: Southern Illinois University at Carbondale (SIUC).
317 RAL 
Email: tjoh2@illinois.edu
Tianyu Terry Gao
BS: China Agricultural University
Email: tianyug5@illinois.edu
Yu-En Andrew Huang
BS: University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Email: yuenh2@illinois.edu
Undergraduate Students

Jeong Won (Tina) Han: jwhan4@illinois.edu

Uma Agarwal: umaa2@illinois.edu

Collin Barnes: collinb5@illinois.edu

Nathan Gron: ngron3@illinois.edu

Nafay Abdul: nabdul25@illinois.edu

Tristan Worley: tworley3@illinois.edu

Ami Patel: amirp2@illinois.edu

Jungbin Lee: jungbin2@illinois.edu

Zhang Laboratory Alumni (Thank you. You will be missed.)

Graduate Students
John Khamo (2014/9-2019/7). Email: jkhamo2@illinois.edu,
Current position: Scientist at Situ Biosciences (2021) and Neelyx lab (2022)
Vishnu Vardhan Krishnamurthy (2014/7 – 2019/12) Email: vkrshnm2@illinois.edu
Current position: Director at UIUC HTSF
Payel Mondal (2015/7-2020/5) Email: pmondal2@illinois.edu.  Current position: Postdoc at CHRISTINA TOWERS, Salk Institute
Savanna Sharum Skeeters (2016/7-2022/1)  Email: ssharum2@illinois.edu Current position: Scientist at Cyrus Biotech

Undergraduate students
Cara Schornak (2014/10-2015/7). Emai: schorna2@illinois.edu Current position: Graduate student at Vanderbilt University.
Ellen Cho (2014/8-2016/5). Email: echo26@illinois.edu Current position: Loyola University Chicago.
Humza Ashraf (2015-2017) Email: hashraf2@illinois.edu  Current position: University of Colorado, Boulder.
Dil Patel (2015-2017) Email: dbpatel4@illinois.edu Current position: Advocate Condell Medical Center, Libertyville, IL
Noah Risner (2015-2017) Email: risner2@illinois.edu
Jennifer Cheng (2017-2018) Email: jzcheng2@illinois.edu. Current position: Graduate student at Northwestern University.
Neeka Haack (2015-2019) Email: nhaack2@illinois.edu   
Kelly Cho  (2017-2019) Email: kcho29@illinois.edu Current position: Graduate Student in the University of Illinois College of Medicine in Chicago 
Max Spiro (2018-2019) Email: maxjs2@illinois.edu
Dhanan Shahdadpuri (2018-2021): dshahd2@illinois.edu
Aruniti Mawana (2021-2022): amanaw2@illinois.edu

High school student
Ana Rosu (2017-2019) Email:  anarosu2@illinois.edu; arosu1@jhu.edu Current Position: Undergraduate student at Johns Hopkins University. 

First-year rotation graduate students
Erik Andersen (2014/10-11) Email: microbioresearcher@gmail.com 
Eric Shinn (2015/9-10)  Email: shinn3@illinois.edu
Yeoan Youn (2015/11-12) Email: youn4@illinois.edu
Madhura Duttagupta (2016/8-9) Email:madhura2@illinois.edu
Nandan Haloi (2016/9-10) Email: nhaloi2@illinois.edu
Micca Hecht (2018/9-10) Email: miccah2@illinois.edu
Laura Suttenfield (2018/9-10) Email: lauracs2@illinois.edu
Xin Chen (2018/11-12) Email: xinc6@illinois.edu
Jessica Palalay (2020/9-10) Email: palalay2@illinois.edu
Anna Mankovich (2020/10-11) Email: annagm2@illinois.edu
Kaylee Kuzelka (2020/11-12) Email: kuzelka2@illinois.edu
Jorge Calderin (2020/11-12) Email: jorgedc2@illinois.edu
Ran Yang (2021/9-10) Email: ranyang3@illinois.edu
Anuradha Sharma (2021/9-10) Email: as110@illinois.edu
Xiangning Song (2021/10-11) Email: xs38@illinois.edu
Tanner Dean (Biophysics) (2021/11-12) Email: tjdean2@illinois.edu
Shweta Shree (2021/11-12) Email: shree3@illinois.edu
Rebecca Tang (2021/11-12) Email: rytang2@illinois.edu