Paris Smaragdis

Paris Smaragdis is an assistant professor in the CS and ECE depts. at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His primary research interests revolve around making machines that can listen. He has conducted work on signal processing, machine learning and statistics as they relate to artificial perception, and in particular computational audition. His research has focused on source separation, and various machine learning approaches to traditional signal processing problems. He completed his masters, Ph.D. and postdoc at the Machine Listening Group at the MIT Media Lab


J. Stephen Downie

J. Stephen Downie is a professor and associate dean for research in the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois. His research interests are in the areas of design and evaluation of IR systems, including multimedia music information retrieval; the political economy of internetworked communication systems; database design; and web-based technologies. He holds a Ph.D. in library and information science from Western Ontario.


Mark Hasegawa-Johnson

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson is a professor of electrical and computer engineering and researcher in the Beckman Institute and Coordinated Science Laboratory. He runs the Statistical Speech Technology group, which conducts fundamental and applied research on the automatic recognition of speech and audio events. He holds a Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering from MIT.


Rob. A. Rutenbar

Rob A. Rutenbar is the Abel Bliss Professor and Head of the Department of Computer Science (CS) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is an affiliate Professor in ECE at Illinois, and a member of the Coordinated Sciences Lab. He is also an Adjunct Professor of ECE at CMU.

His group develops novel silicon architectures for challenging problems in machine perception and big-data analytics, and novel methods to manage the difficult statistics of nanoscale silicon designs.


Heinrich K. Taube

Heinrich K. Taube is an associate professor and chair of composition-theory in Illinois’ School of Music. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Iowa.